Gun control...
Read this article from Ted Nugent today regarding gun control:
http://www.cnn.com/2007/US/04/19/commentary.nugent/index.html
Sorry Ted, but you're an idiot. This rant reeks of a "treat the symptom and ignore the problem" mentality. Let's see what sounds safer to me. A society that has a limited number of guns, or a society where no one is allowed to carry a gun? Hundreds vs. over a billion. Hmm. Seems pretty obvious to me.
What do you think actually happens more? Someone saves a life because they happened to have their gun on them and take down a lunatic, or a tragic, unintended accident because a gun was in the house - think children in a house with a gun. Sure, the parents should be able to teach a 5 year old how to stay away from a gun, or the parents really don't need to have a gun at all.
Why do we need guns anymore? To control our government? I highly doubt that is still applicable. Furthermore, why should EVERYBODY be entitled to carry an assault weapon or an automatic weapon? I firmly believe that our fore-fathers never envisioned a day, where someone could kill over 30 people in less than 10 minutes. No one should have the right to be able to deliver the carnage that modern day weapons are capable of. There is absolutely NO justifcation for this.
What's sad is that at the end of the day, like every other decision in America, it all comes down to money. The people who are profiting from the rules will never allow them to be changed. Who cares if people die, the environment suffers, or people continue to have health problems, we're still making a ton of cash here.
For those of us who have kids in this world, it's numbing to think how little we can really do to change this and make our world into a safer, cleaner, and better place.

