Tuesday, August 21, 2007

i hate ny


last night, meg and i went to the yankees vs halos game. it was a pretty spur of the moment decision. we looked online and found some reasonable tickets in a section that I like. i have to give meg some credit, she was willing to go even tho she had to get up at 5am the next day to get on a plane to Philly for work.

we actually got down to the big A early enough to watch the yankees take bp. we got to see all the big names hit which was pretty cool. we found our seats and got ready for the game.

i have to say that the dynamic at halo/yankee games has change a lot over the years - basically ever since scioscia took over as coach and the angels have had a winning record against the yanks. i have been to two other halo/yankee games - one was game 1 of the alds in 2005 - in each game, the crowds get nasty. i think yankee fans are the lowest form of life there is... (sorry jimmy). they have this unique sense of arrogance and entitlement that no other fan has. it's like being surrounded by 15,000 barry bonds clones. as a result, things tend to get really ugly in the stands - there were at least 3 fights right by us last night.

the feeling was definitely playoff-esque. the game changed leads 4 times. each time one team would go in front all of the fans for that team would stand up and taunt the other team (usually culminating in a fight somewhere). the last 3 innings were the most draining, intense time I've spent at a sporting event. both teams had numerous chances to win the game, but it was until the bottom of the ninth, when ryan budde hit a ball that dropped in between cabrera and abreu that the game was over. we were sitting out in right field, so we saw the ball coming at us and the two yankees running for it... we didn't even know if it had dropped until we saw kendrick take off for the plate and the entire stadium (minus the yankee fans) jumped up and starting screaming. high 5's were all over the place. the yankee fans streamed out of the stadium. the angel fans taunting them with "YANKEES SUCK, YANKEES SUCK" as they walked out. it was intense. i couldn't sleep for 2 hours. meg got 3 hours of sleep before her cab came. our voices are completely gone. it's awesome.