Renaissance Faire!!
So today we went to the renaissance faire. I have to admit that I got the idea when I went to the Coffee Bean yesterday morning and saw my old friend Chelsea all up in wenchgarb. I looked up the specifics on the computer, saw that this week was half price, and away we went.
Needless to say, but Christopher loved it. The minute we got in the place, I got him a sword and shield that he could walk around holding. Pretty cool b/c the shield looks just like a shield in his Knight book that he always says he wants. After that, we threw some battle axes, shot some crossbow bolts, tossed some darts, and watched some fencing. The highlight of the day, or so I thought, was the Royal Joust. Our knight was the White Knight and he ended up winning the joust. Unfortunately for him, he ended up having to go hand-to-hand with the sword and shield to win the joust - that armor had to be pretty hot.
After the joust was over, we were heading home, when this guy asked C if he wanted to learn how to swordfight. I could tell that he was timidly fired up to do it, so we went over to the stage. When we got there, it was pretty interesting to watch C's reaction. I could tell that he was pretty shy about going up on stage, but on the other hand, how often does he get to learn how to sword fight. Eventually, the desire won out and he jumped on stage - YAY! He got up there, learned how to salute, stab and parry like a pro. Good times.
All in all, it was a pretty sweet day. Now C really knows what a real knight tournament was like. I know people mock these ren faire things, but as a parent, it's pretty cool to let your kids experience history like this - sorta like a Civil War recreation... Now, for the adults that get a little carried away, that is just a tad odd... but to each their own :-)
Christopher with his sword and shield

|
Throwing axes at the target

The white knight about to joust.

|
The white knight and black knight battle

Christopher learning how to sword fight!

|