msft sucks...
So I had a Sony Vaio with Windows Media Center Edition 2004 on it. I've been pretty happy with it, except for a few bits of trouble encoding divx movies on it. Anyway, I kept wondering when Sony was going to offer MCE 2005 for my model... I have heard NOTHING but great things about it and I was pumped to check out. They finally made it available 2 weeks ago and I ordered it the very first night it was available. The day it came to my work, I was gleaming. This was going to be my dessert for the night. The chance to geek out with a new OS... For normal people, this is lame. For geeks like me, nirvana.
UNFORTUNATELY...
Things have not really gone so well. This whole seamless upgrade thing? Bogus. No wonder why Sony didn't want to advertise this. It's hosed my entire system. For the last two days, I've been trying to upgrade. Now my machine is stuck in between versions, so I can't watch TV or view my media center. It totally blows.
You'd think, after 20 years of existance, MSFT could learn to get it friggin right? The best part is that since it's distributed by Sony, THEY handle customer care, which just point back to more useless MSFT web pages... It's the classic customer care circular reference of we don't want to take any responsibility for making a crappy product.
I don't get it. If I did that in my job, I'd be canned. Either that, or all my users would leave me in a heartbeat... The "advantages" of being a monopoly. You can screw the user and still demand money when you're done.


0 Comments:
Post a Comment
<< Home